Lock Haven University Foundation Celebrates Donors and Students During 10th Annual James C. Reeser Scholarship Brunch


More than 100 donors and scholarship recipients attended the Lock Haven University Foundation's (LHUF) 10th annual James C. Reeser Scholarship Brunch on Apr. 14. The brunch, held in the Durrwachter Alumni Conference Center, is a celebration of donor generosity and student success at Commonwealth University-Lock Haven.

The event provides donors with a firsthand glimpse into the impact their support has on students, while giving students an opportunity to thank donors face to face for helping them achieve academic and athletic success. Each year, two awards are also presented to donors: the Lock Haven University Foundation Wagner Alumni Achievement Award and the LHU Foundation Philanthropy Award.

Established by Donn Wagner '66 and Mary Ann Zaffuto Wagner '69, the LHUF Wagner Alumni Achievement Award honors an individual or individuals whose extraordinary and genuine efforts come from the heart, and whose accomplishments have impacted others in a positive way.

This year's recipient of the Wagner Alumni Achievement Award is Dan Cruttenden '73, Lock Haven University Alumni Association past president. Cruttenden joined the Alumni Association's board of directors in 2018 and was elected president in 2020, a position he held until 2022. Over that span, his passion for the university and its students has inspired his peers.

Along with his volunteerism, Cruttenden established the Linda Repp Cruttenden Scholarship in 2020 in honor of his wife, Linda, who graduated from Lock Haven State College in 1971. The scholarship awards $1,000 annually to a student leader who plays on the women's basketball team.

The LHUF Philanthropy Award is bestowed annually to an individual or individuals that have shown outstanding civic responsibility by voluntarily committing their time and financial resources to advance the philanthropic mission of Commonwealth University-Lock Haven.

This year's recipient of the Philanthropy Award is Jim Amigh '64, benefactor of the "Lee" Todd Amigh '64 Environmental Education Scholarship, which awards up to $21,000 per year to students majoring in environmental education at CU-Lock Haven.

"The meaningful impact donors have on our students continues to inspire us daily," said Commonwealth University president, Bashar W. Hanna. "I would like to thank every one of our donors for their belief in, and investment in our students, and I would like to especially congratulate Dan (Cruttenden) and Jim (Amigh) for the philanthropic legacies they are leaving at The Haven."

As of Apr. 14, the LHUF has awarded more than $666K in scholarships to 368 students during the 2023-24 academic year. For more information on the Lock Haven University Foundation or to make a gift in support of Lock Haven students, visit www.givetolhu.com.